Steering Group

Critical Costume is sustained and managed by a steering group. The number of committee members is not formally set. However, there are three named operational roles that relate to the general organization of Critical Costume: chairs, directors and lead host.

Chair of Critical Costume

The Chair of Critical Costume is responsible for ensuring the sustainability and focus of the organization. The Chair will oversee the nomination rounds for new Directors and will work to ensure that this process is transparent and fair in adherence to the organization’s objectives. The Chair will have the deciding vote on the Steering Group if a decision cannot be met.

Prof. Sofia Pantouvaki
Professor of Costume Design
Aalto University (FIN)

Directors of Critical Costume

Directors of Critical Costume can take up named responsibilities on a fixed term basis and/or provide advice with key strategic decisions. It is expected that the Directors will represent a range of different national and professional interest groups that align with Critical Costume’s core objectives. The Steering Group will ensure that at least two members of the directorship are ‘Early Career’ and that different global regions are represented wherever possible.

Katie Barford (UK)
Donatella Barbieri, University of the Arts London (UK)
Sidsel Bech, Edge Hill University (UK)
Jessica Bugg, RMIT (AU)
Sarah Gilligan, Hartlepool College (UK)
Christina Lindgren, Oslo National Academy of the Arts (NO)
Deborah Nadoolman Landis, UCLA (US)
Aoife Monks, Queen Mary University of London (UK)
Simona Rybáková, Chair of the OISTAT Performance Design Commission / Costume (CZ)
Natalie Rewa, Queens University at Kingston (CA)
Marlis Schweitzer, York University (CA)
Fausto Vianna, University of Sao Paulo (BR)
Sodja Zupanc Lotker, Academy of Performing Arts in Prague (CZ)

Founding Convenors of Critical Costume

In recognition of their role within the formation of this organization, the Founding Convenors of Critical Costume are listed as follows (in order of surname): Sidsel Bech, Rachel Hann, and Sofia Pantouvaki.